top of page

Overview of pre-event participatory installation


35 minutes of excerpts


All photos by Malte Bülow Photography

Calls to this number

are being diverted


(staged music-theatre for 2 soloists and an ensemble of 3 )




ca. 90'



Accordion doubling voice

Violin doubling voice

Clarinet in Bb doubling tin whistle in C, melodica and voice

Cello doubling classical guitar and voice

Percussion doubling keyboards and voice

Audience participation

Pre-event participatory installation (in a foyer space or similar)

Live electronics, visuals and light run in Logic Pro X, Max 8 and QLab

First performed during a 3-show run at Teater Refleksion 02.02.2024-04.02.2024



Composition/concept: Matthew Grouse

Produced by: Aarhus Unge Tonekunstnere

Soloists: Andreas Borregaard (accordion and voice) and Anna Jalving (violin and voice)

Ensemble musicians: Hsiao Tung Yuan (percussion, keyboards, voice), Kirstine Elise Pedersen (cello, guitar, voice), Joss Smith (clarinet, whistles, melodica, voice)

Staging/directing consultant: Anna Sofie Keller Brandsborg

Sound technician: Morten Elkjær

Production assistance: Jacob Ridderberg and Frederik Sakham Contributions to installation and visuals: Jan Giedroyc

Voice acting: Jan Giedroyc, Lily Grouse, Sam Wilson, Harry Gorski-Brown, Mathilde Schelin, Matthew Grouse


In partnership with: Current Resonance, Teater Refleksion, K!ART, Don't Look Back records


Documentation: Camera/Videography: Spektrals

Post-production audio: Matthew Grouse

Photography: Malte Bülow Photography


AUT is grateful to the following foundations for financially supporting the project: Statens Kunstfond, William Demant Fonden, Det Obelske Familiefond, Augustinus Fonden, Dansk Komponistforening , KODA Kultur, CAC Fonden, Knud Højgaards Fonden, Statens Kunstfond, Aarhus Kommunes Musikpulje

About the work:


Evening length music-theatre set in an absurd call centre. At the data collection agency ‘Re-sounding Success’, call centre workers equipped with instruments sit behind their computer screens, waiting (played by Andreas Borregaard and Anna Sakham Jalving). While they wait to be transferred, the hold-music of each company on their call-list is played by a live house band that can only be glimpsed as silhouettes behind an illuminated screen. (hold-music trio: Kirstine Elise Pedersen, Hsiao Tung Yuan and Joss Smith). Operating at the boundaries of new music, experimental theatre involving audience participation, and interactive installation art, the project’s central themes land on the unsettling musicality buried in repetitive labour, cold-calling and workplace technology; the psychological effects of hold-music; and existential questions surrounding time, purpose and agency.


Produced by Aarhus Unge Tonekunstnere - Teater Refleksion, Aarhus - 04.02.2024 - 15.00

Produced by Aarhus Unge Tonekunstnere - Teater Refleksion, Aarhus - 03.02.2024 - 19.00

Produced by Aarhus Unge Tonekunstnere - Teater Refleksion, Aarhus - 02.02.2024 - 19.00

bottom of page